Australian Coins

Before the Federation in 1901, a range of international coins were used as legal tender in Australia’s colonies.

This means that in our earliest days, an Australian coin could have been a Spanish ‘Piece of Eight’ ­– a Silver 8 Reale. Portuguese-Brazilian Johannas were also considered Australian coins. So were Indian Silver Rupees. And of course, the legendary Holey Dollar and Dump.

But that all changed in 1910 when Australia received its own national currency.  We’ve seen tremendous change and development ever since, including the switch from pounds and pence to decimal currency in 1966.

Whether it’s predecimal coins or the latest decimal currency, circulating or non-circulating legal tender, we’ve got an extensive range of Australian coins for sale.